State and Local Resources

State and Local Response to Coronavirus

Up-to-date spreadsheet compilation of declarations and announcements made in markets with NAIOP chapters.

Virtual Building Inspection Programs

Commercial real estate construction projects have been recognized as an essential service in most state Executive Orders that direct the general public to stay at home.  However, most local governments have either implemented teleworking policies or are closed to in-person meetings.  Consequently, many of these critical construction projects cannot move forward because they cannot obtain the necessary inspections, permits, and approvals required by law.

Local governments need to consider viable alternatives in order to provide the necessary inspections and other government services for essential construction projects.  One viable alternative is implementing “virtual” inspections, conducted through video platforms, which can allow for continuation of these projects while maintaining the integrity of the building code inspection and approval process. 

Following are links to local programs, case studies, and articles on virtual inspection programs that have been successfully implemented.  These should serve as a resource for those NAIOP chapters dealing with local governments that have not yet implemented virtual inspection programs, and that may be struggling with building inspection delays that threaten the viability of many real estate projects.


Flagstaff, AZ (Established Because of COVID-19)

Phoenix, AZ  (Pilot Program for Residential Inspections)

Pima County, AZ

Tucson, AZ

Los Angeles County, CA (Residential Inspections)

San Bernardino County, CA

Boulder County, CO (Established Because of COVID-19)

Littleton, CO (Established Because of COVID -19 / Residential Interior Only)

New Castle County, DE

Destin, FL (Established Because of COVID-19)

Pasco County, FL

Leicester, MA

Rockville, MD (Covid-19 Advisory – Virtual Inspections When Possible)

Asbury Park, NJ (Established Because of COVID-19)

Miami County, OH

Arlington, VA

Manassas, VA

Bothell, WA

Pierce County, WA


Back to Top